In the letter conveying the decision, Lee Graham of the Healthy Villi cites the following:
The letter also states that "The American Dietary Association [sic], the Gluten Intolerance Group, and the Celiac Disease Foundation speak with one voice. They educate people with celiac disease with the same consistent information. CSA/USA takes a different stand."
Scientific evidence shows that distilled vinegars and distilled alcoholic beverages, regardless of the source grain, are safe choices in a gluten-free diet. Currently, the clinicians of the Celiac Center of Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center recommend avoiding consumption of oats for newly diagnosed patients, but only until it can be clearly demonstrated that celiac disease is well controlled. After this point, gradual addition of pure oats from a gluten-free facility may be attempted under a physician's guidance. Studies show that eating pure oats can be advantageous for celiacs as a way of adding fiber to their diet. Current scientific consensus is that a food product measured to have less than 20 parts per million of gluten is suitable for the gluten-free diet.
Thanks to Michael Thorn for the info.